All employees of Marietta City Schools shall abide by and enforce the Georgia Seat Belt Law O.C.G.A. 40-8-76.1 when conducting any school business that requires driving a motor vehicle. Georgia’s Seat Belt Law O.C.G.A. 40-8-76.1
Adults ages 18 and over must wear a safety belt when driving or riding in the front seat or front passenger seat of a passenger vehicle. (Passenger vehicle means every motor vehicle designed to carry ten passengers or less and is used for the transportation of persons but shall not mean pickup trucks, motorcycles, motor driven cycles, or vehicles equipped for off-road use, provided that the term “passenger vehicle” includes any sport utility vehicle.)
Failure to wear a safety belt will result in a $15.00 fine. All persons age 6 through 17 years old are required to be restrained in a safety belt in all seating positions. Failure to do so will result in a $25.00 fine to be paid by the driver of the vehicle.
Occupants under 6 are required to be in an age and weight appropriate child restraint or booster seat.
Failure to properly restrain children under six may result in a fine up to $50.00 and one point. If the offender has a second conviction, the fine may be doubled to $100.00 and two points awarded. One citation may be written per unrestrained or improperly restrained child. Because Georgia is one of 21 primary law states, law enforcement can issue citations based on observation, unlike secondary states where other violations of the law must occur.
All employees of Marietta City Schools shall abide by and enforce the Georgia Seat Belt Law O.C.G.A. 40-8-76.1 when conducting any school business that requires driving a motor vehicle.